Browse meetings


This page lists the meetings for Council.


Information about Council

Meetings of this committee are audio recorded

The Council is the full assembly of 48 councillors. Each year the Council elects a Chairman (who must not be a member of the Cabinet or the Overview and Scrutiny Committee). It normally meets six times per year, unless additional meetings are needed. A time is set aside for public questions which must be submitted in writing in advance. See:

Speaking at Council and Committee meetings


The Council elects the Leader of the Council for a four year term at its first meeting after an election. It also appoints committees (except the Cabinet).

The Council sets the framework of key policies, the budget and the annual council tax, but the Cabinet is responsible for implementing policies and for effective delivery of services. There are certain other functions which cannot be delegated but are carried out by the full Council. These are listed in article 4 in part 2 of the Constitution.

The Council also determines the responsibilities for functions which are not the responsibility of the Cabinet. It, therefore, decides the terms of reference and delegated responsibilities of committees other than the Cabinet.